Why be impatient?

The Impatient Woman’s Guide to Getting Pregnant will be published tomorrow! The day is finally here — almost three years after the idea popped into my head when I was swimming laps while pregnant with my second daughter. She’s now 2 1/2, and we’ve since added our third.

A lot of people have asked me “Why did you write this book?” Most of the time, I think they mean why would a research psychologist, with two books on cultural change, go a completely different direction and write a book on fertility?

The quick answer: Because I’m a little crazy. During my first two TTC experiences I read so much of the medical research on fertility, and so much that gave me great new information, that I wanted to share it with more women. I love data and research in general, and hate seeing misinformation. And there was so, so much misinformation out there about fertility! I figured if I was crazy enough to spend so many hours reading medical journal articles I should justify my craziness a little by sharing that information with others.

And it was such a fun book to write. TTC is stressful but (especially when looking back) there’s a lot of humor to be had as well. My favorite part of the book is the list of what I thought about each day of the two-week-wait. I really was crazy, but it’s funny craziness because I know other women feel the same way.

Sometimes people ask me why I wrote the book because they wonder if women really need a book about getting pregnant. These days, I think the answer is yes. First, it really pays to prepare for pregnancy by taking the right vitamins and eating well. Second, TTC is so anxiety-provoking that it’s good to get it over with as soon as possible. Of course it’s fun in some ways, but no woman wants to get her period when she’s TTC. Many of us also want to plan our pregnancies around work or other kids or planned trips or kindergarten cutoffs or a myriad of other reasons. So if you can get pregnant as fast as possible, it helps.

So it’s good to be impatient!

After the kid arrives, though, then you have to learn patience. 🙂 And when you have 3 you really do. I am still working on that. 🙂

About impatientwoman

I'm a psychology professor/researcher and mom of three. When I was trying to get pregnant, I read everything I could find -- and was surprised to find how much advice on fertility was wrong, according to the medical research. Or it was weird, like the statistics on over-35 fertility based on birth records from 17th century France (really!) Plus so many fertility books were boring, or written by men, or written by boring men. That's why I wrote The Impatient Woman's Guide to Getting Pregnant.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

